1927 Match Reports

1927 Cork Inter-Divisional Hurling Championship Semi-Final Against Ballinghassig BALLINACURRA 7-2 BALLINGHASSIG 5-3

Fine brisk weather conditions were associated with the engagement between Ballinaurra (East Cork Finalists) and Ballinghassig(South East Cork finalists) At Turners Cross in 1927 in the semi-final round of the junior inter-county hurling championshipof Cork County.The attendence, however was small being mainly composed of followers of each side It was a vigorous game in which many hurleys were smashed and few players were injured. It was however played in excellent spirit and provided plenty of enthusiasm in this stirring finish. The hurling however never reached a high standard ,though a few brilliant preformances on each sides were forthcoming. The game was strenuously contested from start to finish and eventually Ballinacurra gained a deserving victory. Ballinghassig playing towards the road end and were first to attack. Their forwards enter the mouth of the Ballinacurra goal but the goalie saved and cleared . A good combined movement by the Ballinacurra forwards followed and produced a major score .After a over at the Ballinacurra end Ballinghassig were on the offensive until an over was forthcoming .Following the resumption Ballinacurra had a series of visits to th Ballinghassig territory, but the defence of the Ballinghassig backs proved reliable.Relief was obtained and alternate attacks was the order for some time. An over afterwards took place at the Ballinacurra end.An attack by Ballinacurra’s forwards placed the Ballinghassig net in danger but an excellent clearence was effected by the goalie. An over followed at ensued at the Ballinghassig end . Ballinacurra however again attack and secured their second goal.After two overs at the Ballinacurra end play was removed to the Ballinghassig quarter but the backs promptly cleared. An over quickly followed for the villagers From the puck out Ballinghassig won a free in a favourable position this was taken well and increase Ballinhasssig tally. in the space of six or seven minutes the scores increased dramatically.In that time Ballinacurra scored 1-4 and Ballinhassig scored 1-5. At the interval Ballinacurra lead by a margin of seven points. Ballinghassig started the second half best and could have reduced the villagers lead when the ball fell to the “hassig” full forward and only for a gaolkeeper making a fine save the game might have been different. This fine start was followed up with two goals and three points to bring Ballinhassig back into the game. Ballinacurra then registered a number of points(overs) and there was only a point between the teams. Ballinhassig then levelled the game from a well worked point. Ballinacurra however again preesured the hassig goal and retook the lead with afine goal. The lead was reduced to two points but Ballinacurra shifted up a gear and scored two goals in the final minutes to advance to the County Final The Ballinacurra Team Willy Donavan – Joseph Ronayne – Lee Carey – Patrick Walsh – Micheal French John French – William Duggan – David Duggan – John Lane – Timothy Connors John Conney – Thos Sullinvan – Daniel Hegarty – Micheal Draddy – Con NMcSwiney Willy Barry – David Quirke – Georgie Lee